You are here

The Crucible

Sign up to attend

Arthur Miller
Dramatists Play Services
Director Staff: 
Director: JT Blunden

"The Crucible" is a brilliant illustration of the adage, "Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned." Abigail is a young woman who has been betrayed by a married man. In an attempt to take him for her own, she hatches a dangerous plot involving falsehood, witchcraft, and murder. However, when this tangled web accidentally snags the man she loves, it's anyone's guess as to who will break first.

"The Crucible" was written as a parallel to the infamous "Red Scare" of the 1950's, during which any action deemed "unusual" or "unpatriotic" was seen as a potential indicator of Communistic tendencies. In 1953, it won the "Best Play" Tony Award, and has remained a staple of American literature ever since.


Image credit goes to Malaspina University-College Theatre Department


Audition Dates

Audition dates not available

Performance Dates

  • Fri, 11/30/2012 - 7:00pm to 9:30pm

    Lobby opens: 6:00pm
    Theater opens: 6:30pm
    Performance starts: 7:10pm

  • Sat, 12/01/2012 - 7:00pm to 9:30pm

    Lobby opens: 6:00pm
    Theater opens: 6:30pm
    Performance starts: 7:10pm

  • Sun, 12/02/2012 - 4:00pm to 6:30pm

    Lobby opens: 3:00pm
    Theater opens: 3:30pm
    Performance starts: 4:00pm

LTU Science Building, S100
Venue Address: 
2100 West Ten Mile Road Southfield, MI 48075
Ticket Cost: 
With LTU ID: Free
All Others: $5.00
Special Thanks: 

Dean Bauer for advice and aid during hte theater renovation

The College of Arts and Sciences for publishing

Dr, Melinda Phillips for continued advice and guidance

Wally Bizon, LTU Media Services/AV for extraordinary technical service and support with the new theater equipment

Cast Members

Diana BrazierBetty Paris
Caleb RhoadsRev. Samuel Parris
Theresa BryantTituba
Zoe GaberAbigail Williams
Ashley MaierSusanna Walcott, Martha Corey, Sarah Good
Katie HendricksonAnn Putnam, Ezekiel Cheever
Jake LefebvreThomas Putnam
Rachel SweetMercy Lewis
Vance ArnoldJohn Proctor
Delaney LargeRebecca Nurse
Josue NunezGiles Corey
Emily VottaRev. John Hale
Caitlin QuinonesElizabeth Proctor
Josh BriellFrancis Nurse
Gabe StroeJohn Willard
Rachel SeegerJudge Hathorne
Kenneth FitzgeraldDeputy Gov. Danforth

Crew Members

Joe LongTechnical Director, Lighting Engineer
Greg Ellsworth and Mari WeaverStage Manager
Wally Bizon (LTU Media Services)Audio Engineer